Writers & Books bp8

As you think back to one year ago as you were getting ready for graduation and starting your year of service with Rochester Youth Year and AmeriCorps*VISTA, what expectations did you have? Were these expectations met? Exceeded? Or was everything you thought this year would be completely wrong?

Overall, my expectations were met. I learned a lot about my site before I ever started my service year so there weren’t any big surprises. The Fellow before me did a good job explaining what it would be like to serve at Writers & Books so I knew exactly what to expect. I had no idea what to expect from living in Rochester and so there weren’t many expectations to be met or broken there. I’m very happy with my experience insofar and I’m sure that I will continue to be happy with it until my very last day! Everyone here at Writers & Books has done an awesome job supporting me as a part of the organization. I can only hope to fit in as well as I do here wherever I end up next. This whole experience taught me once again that having an open mind is key when going into something new.

A

Leave a Reply

