You can’t do it for the Benjamin’s.

What do you think will be the most important thing/things you will take away from your year of service?

So…often times when I explain to people what I’m doing with my life and how the AmeriCorps program works, I get the question, “Why would you commit to that?”  In the beginning my response had always been, “Well, your guess is as good as mine,” but now I believe can answer that question for you.  See I realized from the beginning that there is no way that you could be apart of AmeriCorps for the money.  Considering that we live on a stipend, you really have to make a commitment to the experience that you’re gaining.  So far my experience has been great, I have already gained so much from this position.  This whole experience has been so new, so it is really hard for me to pinpoint one major thing that I will take away from my year of service.  I know that in the future I will be able to look at and analyze every aspect of my year of service, and apply what I’ve learned to my future job.

peace,

Megan

Leave a Reply

