Finding My Niche

When I think about all of the things I’ve learned from being at the Youth Bureau for just 6 months, it’s hard to decide what skills and lessons will be the most valuable. I have already grown as a professional in the short time that I have been here. So far, I have had the responsibility of running a government program, working with talented high school students, building partnerships, planning events, awarding grants, and writing strategic plans. I have flexibility with regard to how I accomplish these tasks, and so I’ve learned to be self-directed and set my own goals. I’m sure that the experiences I’ve had and the skills I’ve developed will help me in any job I have in the future.

Personally though, I think the most important thing I will take away from this year is a career change. I’ve realized that with my skills and interests, I am much more suited to behind-the-scenes, indirect service jobs than direct service with clients. Being a part of Rochester Youth Year has given me the opportunity to explore opportunities in Rochester and elsewhere for careers in the nonprofit/human services world. I am excited to continue my year of service and see what the next six months have to offer. I am even more excited that I have found an opportunity to launch myself into a rewarding career.

-Leanne

Leave a Reply

