Life after VISTA

After being a VISTA for a few months, what have you deduced about your future plans

Whenever I am asked about my future plans, I flash back to high school graduation and loathing that question from all my friends and relatives. It is still a loaded question I tend to avoid like the plague.

Quite honestly, I am not sure exactly where I want to end up in life. Through volunteering as a VISTA I have become interested in paths which I would not have gone done had I not been placed at Brown Square.

One thing I know for certain is that I DO NOT want to go onto medical school. This is a question I am asked frequently at events, within the office, and in the community. I have even been asked if I was a Doctor quite a few times… Doogie Howser much?!  However, working in a  medical environment has increased my passion for women’s health, specifically in undeserved communities.  It is a field I would love to continue working in, through community health education or public health.

I have recently looked into applying to graduate programs in Public Health and Social Work. However, I do not know if I am ready for more loans, all nighters, and living in the library. I guess I should probably figure it out soon!  Perhaps, another year of VISTA is in the cards for me…

Sara

Leave a Reply

