It’s getting there.

Hola!  Well in the beginning I’m not going to lie, the whole transition was a little rough.  I was placed in a brand new school, which was and still is developing.  Like with any new relationship, job, or change for that matter, there are going to be obstacles to overcome.  I guess what I personally have been trying to remind myself is that I need to relax and things will happen when they happen.  When I first applied for AmeriCorps I thought it was going to be like any other office like job.  Well….I was wrong.  I’m still learning (and making mistakes in the process) and still trying to find my place.  I guess I can’t complain though, because nobody ever said that this was going to be easy.

Right now I’m developing a mentor program for our school.  We’ve reached out to local colleges and businesses to bring in mentors and also to set up college visits and internship opportunities.  Today we had our first set of mentors come in!  It’s pretty freakin’ sweet to see something that you have been working on for 2 months begin to take off!  I also have been developing after school activities that relate to the boys interests, and at open house they will have the opportunity to sign up for these clubs!

Things are beginning to turn around for the better.  The late and great Bob Marley once sang: “Life is one big road with lots of signs. So when you riding through the ruts, don’t complicate your mind. Flee from hate, mischief and jealousy. Don’t bury your thoughts, put your vision to reality. Wake Up and Live!” 

 

 

 

peace ☮,

Meg

Leave a Reply

