Ending One Service Year…And Starting Another

As I count down the last weeks of my time here at The Center for Youth, I am faced with an overwhelming bittersweet feeling. I have learned so much over the course of the last year and would not have changed my experience for anything. However, I am beyond excited for what is next….RYY VISTA Leader!

As a third year site, the ATS Program at The Center for Youth was already very established (thanks in large part to the wonderful VISTA’s before me!) and I was often left feeling like I didn’t have much more to contribute in the one short year I would be in the program. I do feel that I have assisted the program in valuable ways and contributed to the sustainablitiy, but I wish I could have done more. Which leads me to the reason why I wanted to become the RYY VISTA Leader for the 2011-2012 service year.

Coming into AmeriCorps*VISTA and RYY, I had this feeling that I was going to do “big things” and really make an impact on the youth and families in the City of Rochester. While I don’t doubt that I have, however indirectly, made an impact on those youth that have come through the ATS program in the past year, and who will come through in the years to come, I haven’t seen the huge results I envisioned. I feel that as the RYY VISTA Leader, I will be able to continue serving the youth in the City of Rochester by guiding and supporting the next group of talented VISTAs. I am hoping that my experiences this year will allow me to successfully assist the new group of Fellows to make the kind of impact that is needed.

I will definitely miss The Center for Youth and the ATS Program. I have met so many amazing, dedicated individuals here and would love the chance to someday come back to work or volunteer with the Center. But I cannot wait to begin my next year of service to the youth in the City of Rochester!

Thank you so much to Kyvaughn and Glenn for keeping us motivated and upbeat even when things got tough. And thank you to the other 7 awesome VISTAs who I am so lucky to have gotten to know over the last year. We really all have become a little family and I absolutely will miss each and every one of you!!

Until next time,

Kaitlin Rohena

The Center for Youth, Alternative to Suspension Program

Leave a Reply

