So Long, So Long Biz Kid$…kinda.

Hello Friends,

It’s strange how quickly this year has gone. It’s hard to believe that in a few short months I’ll have to move on from here.

I have bittersweet feelings thinking about this place. The ‘bitter’ being feelings of frustration from change and the experience of dealing with disgruntled parents (to name a few) — the ‘sweet’ being all the people I’ve met and the new passions I’ve discovered.  I’ve grown so much here in such a little amount of time. I never knew how resourceful I was or how quickly I was able to adapt. I feel relieved for being done, excited that I’ll be eligible to receive my education award and a tad scared for what’s to come.

But mostly, I feel like it’s April of 2010 and that I’m still unsure of what I’ll be doing with the rest of my life.

Whatever I’m feeling now, I definitely feel a sense of ending. Whether it’s because of the conscious fact that there’s only 2 months left of my year of service or seeing the construction people moving in on the Program Office, preparing to kick us out to make room for the people coming over from City Hall — I can tell that big changes are coming my way.

As for what I’ll be doing right after July 29th, I’ve signed a contract to stay on with the Biz Kid$ Program until the end of September to transition the next VISTA into the program. So I suppose that I will be saying so long to Biz Kid$ eventually…just not as soon as I’d originally planned.

After September, however, it will be hard to say where I’ll end up but I do know that this service year has definitely changed my life. I feel as though this is EXACTLY where I was intended to be right after college and have no regrets for signing up to be part of all of this.

-Ashley McAuslen, 2010-2011 RYY Fellow at Biz Kid$

 

P.S. I was listening to this song as I was writing this post…I’m sure Audrey and Brittany will approve:

One thought on “So Long, So Long Biz Kid$…kinda.

  1. Jennifer says:

    I am happy to hear that you will be staying on with BizKid$ for a few months. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

