Y.A.R.

A fellow VISTA stated that my blog was a bit harsh, but it’s how I felt, and still feel. I have removed the post, since this is a public domain. But I will say this, the next 6 months will become more and more frustrating for me, but I do see the light at the end of the tunnel and it’s not completing my year of VISTA. Its noticing the potential that an organization has and the lack of attention that is given to reach such a height. Part of my frustration stems from me not applying for the YAR coordinator position, especially when people have noticed my desire to lead such a position and they encouraged me to do so. Also people look at the YAR coordinator position as a stepping stone, not a position worth holding for more than two years and though this may sound like an opinionated (coming from me) statement, it isn’t cause this is what I have been told, but its not what I believe.

I’m a little more frustrated that there are things that can be, should be done that are out of my control because I am a VISTA, an AmeriCorps in general. Sometimes I feel that hiring an AmeriCorps may be a way for organizations to save a few thousand dollars and it shouldn’t be that way. My work is appreciated by a selected few here but honestly the work that I am doing, should have been done already.

There is a lot more that I can say, but I don’t feel like re-writing another blog. If you want to read the first one, please email me. Right now, I’m just making sure that I will pass down the necessary tools so that VISTA next year won’t be as frustrated as I am, and if they are, I’ll definitely be their support!

One thought on “Y.A.R.

  1. This is why self reflection, better yet, writing your feelings on paper, is so crucial. You have got to get it all out! Think about it this way, if they did what your doing long ago, then they wouldn’t be in need of a VISTA. You are the catalyst they needed… a great on at that!

Leave a Reply

