RiseGo Inc.

After coming back from Christmas break I was at a loss about what I was supposed to do at RiseGo. There has seemed to a be a chronic lack of momentum and it left me clueless how to move forward. That isn’t really new though, my host site is the only site which is in its start-up phase. Resources have been tight from the start and the man with the vision and my only co-worker is being pulled in too many directions without significant support.

Additionally I was very unhappy to see our after school social entrepreneurship program, which was the purpose of my VAD (VISTA Assignment Description) be pushed back from this fall to next fall due to our inability to properly recruit participants or find proper funding.

I have so desperately wanted to have results to lay before others, to say that I have accomplished something, but it has often felt like I hit barrier after barrier just as I think I’m coming into the sunlight. I have tried to recruit volunteers, pursue partnerships, and obtain grants, and just when I have felt extremely close that’s when it would fall through.

Despite all this I knew I had to get back up, reorganize and keep pressing on. I now feel I have a better idea of what our next steps are and I continue to push forward to make next year’s program launch successful. In order to do so I have been trying to find funding for the program, getting a more solid marketing campaign together, working on making our facilities sustainable financially, and looking into launching a Saturday program to lead into next year.

Things have been difficult, but take solitude in knowing that I am being shaped through this experience, learning perseverance and meeting people I never would have been able to meet. In particular I have been blessed to know my fellow VISTAs who have been so supportive and whom I love. While right now I don’t see the value in the specific hardships I am facing I know they have a greater purpose in my life and in the life of others and in that I rejoice, I dance…

3 thoughts on “RiseGo Inc.

  1. Ashley M. says:

    Glad to hear you’re making progress even through all the obstacles and that you’re finding opportunity to re-organize in times where others may have just given up!

    You’re awesome!

  2. Kyvaughn says:

    Keep pushing David!

  3. Jennifer says:

    You have a great perspective!

Leave a Reply

