Compeer Rochester

I’ve been with Compeer Rochester, Inc. for just over two months, and I have to say things are going quite well!  I’ve found my niche in the organization, and love the fact that I’m allowed to exercise creativity and initiate my own projects daily.  Just this past month, I’ve initiated a coffee hour for our ‘waiting to be matched’ friends, booked venues for our Photovoice showcase, began creating a ‘Campus Ambassadors’ program, and organized an Compeer Open House at my alma matter, SUNY Brockport.  My favorite part of being a VISTA is the amount of trust my supervisor has in my ideas.  We work collaboratively, quite a change from the micro-management I experienced at my former jobs.  The responsibilities I’ve been trusted with are a huge confidence booster, and I’m excited to see how creative I can get within the bounds of my assignment description.

            October promises to be a busy month at Compeer, with Photovoice and Holiday Parties becoming my top priorities.  (If you’re unfamiliar with Photovoice, check out my last blog entry for more information.)  The youth received their cameras a few weeks back, and I’m so excited to see what sort of photographs they take for their projects.    The aim of their project is to reduce the stigma surrounding mental illnesses – quite a sophisticated concept for a group ranging from 13 to 18 years of age.  We have an amazing team, however, composed of staff from Compeer and members of a photography fraternity at RIT.  I have no doubt that these youth will pull off an amazing project, and get us one step closer to eliminating the stigma of mental health.  Other than that, we have a Halloween Bingo Party on October 28th, (my birthday!) which I am pumped for.  I probably have the coolest job ever, and can’t wait to report back next month with more good news J

Leave a Reply

