Compeer Rochester, Inc.

Hey All 🙂

It’s been an exciting start at Compeer Rochester as I settle in as their third and final AmeriCorps VISTA.  I’m lucky enough to have our former VISTA, Katie, back on staff to help me with the transition.  I’ve been spending a lot of time working on Compeer’s Photovoice Project with students from RIT.  Photovoice aims to give unheard populations the chance to express themselves through photography.  We’re working with a team of about six Compeer Youth as they learn about photography, go out and take pictures, and eventually set up an exhibit to show off their work and educate the community about their lives and struggles.  I’m aiming to have their first exhibit up sometime in December, so stay tuned for more information on that.

Apart from Photovoice, I spend my days getting better acquainted with Compeer and developing strategies to carry out my VISTA Assignment Description.  My first goal is to set up a coffee hour for clients waiting to be matched, so wish me luck on that :).   Overall, I am very happy with my placement, and very excited to see what new challenges and opportunities VISTA life will bring.

Aubrey
RYY Fellow at Compeer  Rochester
The College at Brockport 2010 Alum
Leave a Reply

