Compeer Rochester, Inc.

Well, I’m back again with one final post for the year.  I cannot believe that 12 months have come and gone, and that I will be concluding my service at Compeer at the end of next week.  I am so incredibly grateful to have had this experience, and feel that it has helped me to grow both personally and professionally.  While I encountered many challenges throughout the year as I sought to develop relationships with area organizations, I feel that I was able to better learn outreach strategy throughout the process, and am pleased with the partnerships that were able to be cultivated.  As a result of this project, Compeer has now established contact with well over 100 organizations, and has a more heightened presence in the community with opportunities developing to better serve their clients and volunteers.  A recent example can be found in a Movie and Game Night event that was organized and implemented through these outreach efforts that allowed Compeer clients who were awaiting a mentoring match to spend time with others in the community and feel less isolated.  Many commented that this was the first event that they were able to attend, and that they thoroughly enjoyed the opportunity.  Poverty is a substantial barrier in the Greater Rochester area, often limiting families from accessing needed services.  However, I firmly believe, and this year has further taught me, that community members working together with a shared goal and passion can truly make a difference and overcome some of these socioeconomic obstacles.  With the sustainability of the Rochester Youth Year project, I have no doubt that the incoming Fellow will pick up where I left off and continue this mission to serve and empower the underserved in Rochester.

Katie
RYY Fellow at Compeer
St. John Fisher College 2009 Alum
Leave a Reply

